LVGL ends its collaboration with SquareLine Studio

Important announcement!

LVGL and SquareLine Studio are parting ways.

But as the saying goes: when a door closes a window opens. We are already working on how and what to create for you in order to make the UI development with LVGL even smoother.

You can read more about the details in this blog post.

P.S. We’re open to all your questions!

1 Like

Hello Gabor,

This is sad news, I recall reading that you started Squareline Studio together with the guy who supposedly still owns it. What will become of Squareline now that collaboration with you is probably less tight? The software itself was honestly not perfect but I have had succes using it to quickly build screens that I could expand upon with my own code.

I have no experience with making desktop software but wouldn’t it be great if the UI designer itself could be Open-Source too? Of course I understand this might be very bad for Squarelines business.

2 Likes

Hi gabor.
Is there a specific reason?

Hi,

To be honest I also had concerns with the stability of SquareLine Studio. Besides, compared to how closely I coupled it to LVGL and promoted it, I didn’t get a reasonable level of control and any kind of decision making rights. As being not perfectly happy with it and not having control, I felt like the best move is to separate our ways.

We are still considering what should be our next step. Probably we will create a survay soon to better understand what you would really need.

5 Likes

A cross-platform free and open source visual designer that supports LVGL has been around for a while thanks to a donation from NLnet. I introduced it in this post: Free and Open Source EEZ Studio

9 Likes

Hi Gabor!
These are not good news.
This probably also explains my surprise recently that StudioLine is touting version 1.3.3 as a novelty, although it already offers 1.3.4 for download, but still only with LVGL 8.3.x and not with version 9.