Display + touch not displaying anything on ESP32

Hello, I am new to LVGL and Micropython as well, first time using it and I need help.

My problem is that when initialized, ili9341 display and xpt2046 touchscreen do not display anything. I’ll go over my setup.

I am trying to connect this display to the ESP32, and I am doing so connecting the pins in the photo to the default pins that are declared in lv_micropython’s README.

I followed the example in the README, in a Ubuntu VM, opened a PuTTY session, imported and initialized both display and touchscreen in a Micropython prompt, with seemingly no errors. Messages displayed were:

Single buffer
II9341 initialization completed
Enable backlight

for display and nothing for xpt2046.

Then, I copied the code below that example in the README, which looks like this:

# Create a screen with a button and a label

scr = lv.obj()
btn = lv.btn(scr)
btn.align_to(lv.scr_act(), lv.ALIGN.CENTER, 0, 0)
label = lv.label(btn)
label.set_text("Hello World!")

# Load the screen

lv.scr_load(scr)

But after that, screen just displays white (nothing changes).

What am I doing wrong?

Did you call to lv.task_handler and lv.tick_inc?

At first I didn’t. Now I put in my code the following lines at the end:

while True:
    lv.task_handler()
    utime.sleep_ms(5)

which apparently resulted in a timeout error from ampy (as that’s what I am using to run the file in the board).
I also looked at the docs for tick_inc() but couldn’t understand where to place it. Could you please instruct me in doing so?

You are going in the right way.
The tick_inc(5) should be placed after task_handler, in the same while loop.
To avoid ampy crash, you should print something(like print(".") ) every second. I think it has some timeout to prevent device blocking.

Hi @GianK128 !

It’s not clear to me which display exactly you are using. The link you sent is for RPi_TFT_Connections.png but it’s not clear what this board is, or even if this is an ili9341 board.