Question lv_img

hello,

I’m new to littlevgl. Today, I got a issue about jpg display. I found the online https://littlevgl.com/image-to-c-array always output a big .c file for a jpg image.
I’m using esp8266 for testing, it always complie error, it seems no RAM enough,however, I use a lib named “TJpg_Decoder”, it cloud work and output the same jpg for me.
I guess littlevgl must keep the data of jpg image(in RAM) currently, is that right ?
is that possible to make the c array smaller ? or change it as .h ?

I have a question, there are 2 ways I guess this lib to deal with jpg image.
1)this image must keep in RAM till it been replaced. some image, once it been background, and a transparent container in the top of the background, the lib must need to re-calculate colors, and fill it again. so , it must be in RAM.
2) the RAM will be set free after used. once it been background, and a transparent container in the top of the background, the lib will read colors from hardware, and re-calculate colors and fill it one by one.

Is there someboday who can tell me the way about littlevgl handling the image ?

thanks.

What would you expect? If you set C array as output format, it will create C array.

I don’t really understand what is your goal. So you have a “normal” JPG image, but want to store it in the flash of MCU, and use “TJpg_Decoder” to display an image from it.

If so, you should choose the “Raw” color format in the converter. “True color” output format will save decompressed image (pixel by pixel), but “Raw” will output the JPG file as it is (byte by byte).

1. in esp8266, the .c array is too big, and it’s over the RAM of esp8266.
  2. I try to use RAW format(.bin) file, but it seems error, I can not read it from spiffs. it not works. it seems the same issue with here: https://github.com/littlevgl/lv_arduino/issues/41#issuecomment-619830641 .