PlatformIO Simulator

I’m new to PlatformIO. My current project which doesnt use LVGL compiles for the Mega and ESP32 no issues.

I tried a simple LVGL “hello world” type app and it compiles/uploads to the ESP32 but I cannot get the Simulator working. Same code doesnt compile.

hello world code below followed by the platformio.ini. I figured I would copy the entry from the GitHub - lvgl/lv_platformio: PlatformIO project example for LVGL, specifically the one for emulator_64bits. I did change the lvgl to be vers 8.3.4 which compiles w/o emulator selected. The demo code below fails on the emulator.

#include <lvgl.h>

void setup() {
lv_init();

lv_obj_t * label = lv_label_create(lv_scr_act());
lv_label_set_text(label, "testing crap");
lv_obj_align(label, LV_ALIGN_CENTER, 0, 0);

}

void loop() {
lv_task_handler();
}

platformio.ini:
[env:esp32dev]

platform = espressif32

board = esp32dev

framework = arduino

lib_deps = lvgl/lvgl@^8.3.4

[env:emulator_64bits]

platform = native

extra_scripts = support/sdl2_build_extra.py

build_flags =

${env.build_flags}

-D LV_LOG_PRINTF=1

!python -c "import os; print(' '.join(['-I {}'.format(i[0].replace('\x5C','/')) for i in os.walk('hal/sdl2')]))"

-lSDL2

-D LV_LVGL_H_INCLUDE_SIMPLE

-D LV_DRV_NO_CONF

-D USE_SDL

-D SDL_HOR_RES=480

-D SDL_VER_RES=320

-D SDL_ZOOM=1

-D SDL_INCLUDE_PATH="\"SDL2/SDL.h\""

-D LV_MEM_CUSTOM=1

-D LV_MEM_SIZE="(128U * 1024U)"

lib_deps = lvgl/lvgl@^8.3.4

build_src_filter =

+<*>

+<../hal/sdl2>

Error when compiling using emulator_64bits env:

Linking .pio/build/emulator_64bits/program
/usr/bin/ld: /usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-linux-gnu/12/../../../x86_64-linux-gnu/Scrt1.o: in function `_start':
(.text+0x17): undefined reference to `main'
collect2: error: ld returned 1 exit status
*** [.pio/build/emulator_64bits/program] Error 1
  1. I guess the question is, has anyone used PIO IDE with the simulator? Is it as simple as copy the platformio.ini entry and have at it?