Merge Display and Input Drivers from lv_port_esp32 to lv_drivers

Hey all,

I am pretty new to LVGL but it came as the standard supported GUI toolkit for the NXP device I am working on. However, in the NXP example code, they have some custom drivers for the IL9341 display controller and the FT6x06 touch controller. This is fine for example code but I would like to build up my project using the actual lvgl and lv_drivers code line (MCUExpresso just lumps them in as part of their SDK). Looks like they are already supported in the lv_port_esp32 repository but not in the main lv_drivers one. Are there any plans to merge those components into lv_drivers? If not I would be happy to do it myself, just donā€™t want to duplicate work in case its already in progress.

Cheers,
Chris

Hi Chris,

Iā€™m one of the lv_port_esp32 maintainers, there are plans to do it, but we havenā€™t come up with a roadmap or any todo list.
Any thoughts @kisvegabor.

@Carlos_Diaz would you be open to working on the roadmap and todo list together? I can start taking a look at the existing driver in the lv_port_esp32 and compare it to what Freescale has done so I can get an idea of the differences and any gotchas we might run into.

Hi @chris-simplyembedded ,

We can, hereā€™s a repo (lvgl_esp32_drivers) where we were trying to decouple the drivers from the ESP32 Demo project. The drivers architecture is being rewritten but focused on the ESP32 microcontroller, I think we can get some ideas from there to make the drivers MCU agnostic and land the new architecture on the lv_drivers repository instead (that was the end goal of that repo).

But Iā€™m only a maintainer, I would like to include @kisvegabor or @embeddedt (and everybody who wants to help) in the roadmap.

We can start some brainstorming in here if you agree.

Regards
Carlos

1 Like

As @Carlos_Diaz mentioned we started to work on rewriting the drivers and make the platform reusable in a platform agnostic way.