Lvgl to slow to be useable

Hi,
As the problem forum appears to be deprecated I hope this is the place to ask for help on issues.

I am using an i.MX RT processor running at 500MHz, with 2D GPU support, whenever I have a fairly complicated static screen my lvgl call rate ( and hence update rate ) is 1ms.
However, whenever there is something happening on the screen, be it animation, updating a single button, or even having the performance monitor updating in the corner my CPU usage goes up to 99% and my update rate is 3 frames per second with lvgl call rate nearing 300ms. This is unusable for me, and the disparity is so large I figured I am doing something wrong, especially as this is my first project with lvgl.
I create the screen with the gui-guider and run the screen on FreeRTOS, with the “standard” setup of the GPU and LCD. It is a custom LCD with 800 x 1280 pixels. My theory is that I have a cache or similar too small as it only happens with a complicated screen ( 15 buttons and a few other widget types ).
Is there anything obvious I should be doing? I have double buffered the screen ( in fact triple buffer as it is a rotated screen ). What frame rate are others experiencing with similar setups.
As it is a custom screen is there anything I could be doing wrong to cause this?
I can provide the code if it helps, but I don’t think I am doing anything extraordinary.

Any help appreciated.

Many Thanks

Seems your idea use big screen resolution lacks knowledge about hw.
Triple buffering 16bit RGB require 6MB RAM , have you this? You rotate by sw ???
I dont write next numbers as required memory speed usw.
LVGL is memory based GUI, optimal flush method is your job.
Try read somethink about, or use prepared code.

Hi,

I have 32MB available and the rotation is in hardware, as I said, I use the 2d GPU present on the silicon.
I am using as much of the prepared code as possible, using the defines for the NXP as present in the NXP SDK code.