LittlevGL with Micropython and Thonny IDE for STM32F401

Dear All,

I am totally new to Micropython.
I would like to use LittlevGL with the Thonny IDE.

The target hardware is a ST Nucleo board (STM32F401) which I can make running with Micropython and the Thonny IDE.

My problem is that I really couldn’t understand at all how to add LittlevGL to the Thonny project file system.

In short, I would need to know exactly how to be able to get the following instruction working within the Thonny IDE:

import lvgl as lv

I always get the error message: ImportError: no module named ‘lvgl’

If someone could help me with a detailed and understandable step by step instruction I would appreciate it very much.

Additionally, it would be great if someone could also tell me what I need to modify within the code to make a 2.8" display with ILI9341 driver running on the STM32F401 target system (with parallel or with SPI interface).

Thank you very much in advance!

Alex

@amirgon This is more in your league than ours.

Hi @aklein9999!
I know nothing about Thonny IDE.
I assume this is a Python editor, probably with nice integration of Debugger, Build System etc.

The important thing you need to understand is that LittlevGL and its Micropython binding are C Projects, not Python projects. Think of them as an extension to the MicroPython core libraries (lvgl is a “native” python module).

In order to make “import lvgl as lv” work, you first need to build Micropython with lvgl binding on your machine, specifically the stm32 port. I believe that Thonny will not help you with this. You need to have some understanding of C code and how to build C with GNU Make.

Micropython LittlevGL binding can work in principle with any embedded architecture and display hardware, but each architecture and hardware requires porting.
I ported (and maintaining):

• The unix port that can be used on any Linux device with either SDL or FrameBuffer
  • ESP32 port with ILI9341