Is LVGL the fastest there is for drawing?

Hi All,

A) I am new to lvgl and to hierarchy of graphics in general in Linux. Here is what I understand the top to down graphics layers are in software - please correct if I am wrong:

LVGL > x11 > Kernel Framebuffer
*Or x11 is not there?

Is LVGL standard use is without x11 and direct to framebuffer using this:

B) Is there a lower level than kernel framebuffer as well for graphics in software? or no rest is hardware and one can not access it using software?

C) I am looking to draw *live streaming charts of financial data (stocks, forex, crypto…) so this will be X/Y axis and not much fancier. I don’t need 3D yet. I may need some interaction to make charts bigger or smaller using mouse scrolling. BUT I need as fast as possible drawing with 100s of 1000s data points coming to LVGL to plot every second. I am ditching all other libraries in favor of speed and going right down to lowest layer. Is my approach for speed correct?

D) Are there any examples of financial data charting with LVGL?

I will have an Ubuntu Server or FreeBSD server which is hosted close to a broker in a data center so it will receive streaming data to it and it does not have a monitor attached to it and I won’t be setting in front of it. The plan is to chart data there using LVGL maybe and then VNC is over to my client-side PC (my home PC) OR to to send all data over network to me and to run LVGL on my client-side PC whichever gives me the fastest response to see on screen. Which approach is correct?

*Yes, I know eyes and brain analysis time is at least 13ms. My questions are just about realistic possible LVGL speeds.

Thank you kindly,

I’ll ask @kisvegabor to take a look at this and also respond with my thoughts here.

LVGL can do both. It can use SDL in order to render within a normal X11 window, or it can render to the framebuffer directly.

[quote=“Bruce_B, post:1, topic:4699”]