How exactly does screen refreshing work?

Hello,

I am just getting started with lvgl and I’m facing what is probably a simple issue. I am using a custom TI AM335x processor platform with a custom display board. The AM335x is running Linux 4.1.6 (based off TI SDK) and a buildroot-generated filesystem. The display board receives run-length encoded pixel data from my AM335x processor via USB, decodes it and writes the pixel data to the screen (480x272, 16bpp).

I’ve managed to get the fbdev demo running, but I’m experiencing some tearing and some strange artifacts which I believe is attributed to overloading my USB bus.

My driver keeps a shadow buffer which it uses to compare to the current framebuffer to determine the ‘damaged’ area which must be redrawn.

I am not sure how I am supposed to notify the driver that all of the little changes are done and it can redraw the screen. I modified the lv_drivers/display/fbdev.c fbdev_flush function to call an ioctl inside my driver to check for the damaged area and redraw, but this seems to be getting called every 35-40ms regardless of what I have set the LV_DISP_DEF_REFR_PERIOD define (currently at 100).

My specific question is how do I slow down the actual refresh rate to prevent my driver from being overloaded? I’ve read the Drawing documentation, but this suggests that all of these small modifications should be happening in the local buffers before being pushed into the mmap memory until the refresh period is reached.

What do I need to do to prevent this from being called so often? Am I completely misunderstanding how this all works?

Ultimately I can get the output to look correct if I force my Linux driver to redraw the entire screen everytime I call my update ioctl, but this expectedly causes tearing. I think some of this will be a non-issue as I do not think any sort of animation will be required, but I would like to better understand how this all works together so I feel more comfortable about what I am doing.