How can I optimize my configuration to run the demo faster?

Description

I’m new to LittleVGL and I’m planning to use an ILI9488 for my next project. I’ve seen some videos of people who had smooth animations (more than 15 FPS) in the lvgl default demo with an ESP32, even with this quite big screen.

What MCU/Processor/Board and compiler are you using?

ESP-WROOM-32 with ESP-IDF 4.0

What do you want to achieve?

Better performance in terms of FPS. I think the issue might be in the transmission phase, since as you can see in the slow motion video, the display scan (from top to bottom) is visible.

What have you tried so far?

I tried to set the CPU frequency to 240MHz via menuconfig, tweaked the SPI configuration and set the clock frequency to 60MHz, and enabled the compiler optimization. The first two changes made the display work a little smoother, but the last one didn’t change anything. I checked whether DMA is enabled by default, and it seems to be using the first channel (I’m not expert in ESP-IDF APIs either). I am using the demo from the lv_port_esp32.

Code to reproduce

I did not change anything except for the spi frequency constant, now set to 60*1000*1000.

Note: I’m using the recently created fix_ili9488_orientation branch since I opened an issue on GitHub for that driver (now solved, thanks).

Screenshot and/or video

Videos here.

If needed, I can capture some data with a logic analyzer.

Thanks,
Riccardo

The high speed displays use a driver like this one…

Thank you, I’ll have a look.

Hi @persello,

I’m C47D over github, I’ve been using the ESP32 Wrover Kit v4.1 with an ILI9341 display (320x240), and I’m getting about 25 FPS. I’m not an ESP-IDF expert neither but we also want to improve the FPS.

As i see it we can have some points to consider:

• Display controller max spi clock, we can’t go faster than this.
  • Max spi clock on the spi master, this can be up to 80MHz on dedicated pins.
  • Improve the transfers via DMA.