Getting started with lv_port_esp32 and squareline studio

Description

Hi!
It’s the first time i’m using lvgl and i’m quite stuck with setting it up. I’m also new to the espressif ide/idf environment, so that’s not helping either…

What MCU/Processor/Board and compiler are you using?

esp32 with espressif IDE

What do you want to achieve?

I want to get a squareline project running on my esp32 with lvgl.

What have you tried so far?

I cloned the lv_port_esp32 project and I can build and flash it on the esp32. I can get other examples to work from the menuconfig but I can’t get examples working that are not given as a choice in menuconfig. I tried using the lv_demo_music demo but I keep getting an ‘undefined reference’ error during building the project. It’s the same when trying to include the squareline ui files. I think it has something to do with the CMakeList files but I can’t find it.

Screenshot and/or video

undefined reference:

CMakeLists.txt in main:

Can somebody see what i’m doing wrong and help me?
Thanks in advance!

Hi, I think what’s happening is that you are calling the music demo function when you don’t have the lv_examples library installed and/or configured and/or included. lv_demo_music is the music player demo and isn’t your SquareLine Studio UI

If you want to use the demo, make sure to include the examples library, then configure it to enable the music player in lv_demo_conf.h and finally then you can call the music player function.

To use your UI from SquareLine Studio, export the c files and include the ui.h header file and then call ui_init function.

Sorry if I have said anything wrong, I am a beginner too.

Hi Windorey

Thanks for your answer!

I think the lv_examples library is installed together with the lv_port_esp32?

However, I’m not able to enable the music player demo in lv_demo_conf.h. It looks like it’s not an option in the port for the esp32.