Example for working with a rotary encoder?

Hi,

Pls anyone will share an example which demostrates how to work with a rotary encoder (and groups)?

Thanks,
Kaiyuan

1 Like

Hi @dukeduck,
Do you mean something like this?

A C code example would be easier to find, and it should be easy to convert it to Micropython.
@embeddedt / @kisvegabor - could you suggest usage examples (in C) for “rotary encoder (and groups)”?

Thanks @amirgon!

I found this post (ESP32 with Rotary Encoder - Simple example for Newbie) which is related to my question. But I’m pretty new to programming and don’t have a background in C language, by looking at the code in that post I’m a bit confused by the read_encoder function which returns a boolean - how is the turning direction and the pressing of the button data passed to the littlevgl?

Thanks,
Kaiyuan

data->enc_diff = diff - last_diff;;
  data->state = btn_state;

Turning direction and value is set on enc_diff and button state is set on state.
The return value false only means that there is no more data to read.

It should be very easy to translate this function to Micropython. Give it a try and let me know if you get stuck.

Hello,
recently worked on this topic. See class below (file “encoder.py”):

"""
code for handling encoders

"""

from machine import Pin
import utime

PERIOD_AQR = 70  # "fast gear" acquire period in ms
TRESH = 4  # "fast gear" speed treshhold
FASTINC = 60  # "fast gear" step-with

class IncRotEc11:  # create class "IncRotEc11"
    """
    class for handling incremental rotary encoders like e.g. ALPS EC11 series
    when turning slow position inc- decrements by 1
    when turning fast position inc- decrements by FASTINC

__init__ arguments
        IncRotEc11(PinA, PinB, PinSwitch, MaxPos, InitPos)
            PinA
                pin number channelA
            PinB
                pin number channelA
            PinSwitch
                pin number switch
            MaxPos
                position maximum value