Beginner problems - LVGL with Arduino

I’ve tried many times over the past couple of years to get LVGL running with Arduino. I usually give up after a couple hours, but today I’m trying again. I’m a reasonably experienced programmer and have successfully used Arduino for many projects in the past, but can’t even get the LVGL examples to compile. Something dumb I’m missing - to be sure.

My current setup is:
Arduino running on Windows 11, targeting Seeed Xiao RP2040 with a ILI9341 TFT, running TFT_eSPI graphics library. I am able to use these with success. Now I want to add LVGL for all the widgets it offers.

I have LVGL 9.0 installed but getting compile errors that I don’t understand how to fix:
///////////////////////
c:\users\dsloc\documents\arduino\libraries\lvgl\lv_conf.h:399:10: fatal error: lvgl/lv_conf_checker.h: No such file or directory
399 | #include “lvgl/lv_conf_checker.h”
| ^~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
/////////////////////

That file is clearly in my lvgl folder so I’m not sure why it can’t find it.

Any pointers appreciated.

Doug

1 Like

You’re not alone @dslocum :joy:
I hope somebody gives an advise and it helps to me too !

I dont use 9 now , but i mean is same as in 8

* Configuration file for v8.3.7
 */

/*
 * Copy this file as `lv_conf.h`
 * 1. simply next to the `lvgl` folder
 * 2. or any other places and
 *    - define `LV_CONF_INCLUDE_SIMPLE`
 *    - add the path as include path
 */

then when you read this template instruction lv_conf.h need place under libraries not in lvgl or as described

Thank you, but I’m pretty new to this. Sorry I don’t understand.

Could you try to explain differently please?

Hi,
Open Arduino File ->Prefrences-> Then make a new Sketchbook location.
After that Download LVGL library -Tools-Manage librarys- Type LVGL (im using 8.3.7) - The newer one had some missing code in the config library.

• Also install tft_espi library for you display drivers ( if you are using tft_espi)

Then you need to configure the LVGL